• bfh4holidays@gmail.com
  • +975 17612077 / 17790909

The currency of Bhutan is called Ngultrum (Nu.) and it has been introduced since 1974. It is subdivided in to 100 Chhetrum on coins until 1979.

The Ngultrum is equal value to the Indian Rupee. When the Ngultrum has been introduced, it retains the peg to the Indian rupee which the Bhutanese Ngultrum had maintained. The Ngultrum does not exchange independently with other nation’s currency bit is interchangeable with the Indian rupee.

Bank Notes:

On 2nd June, 1974 1, 5 and 10 Ngultrum notes were introduced by Royal Govt. of Bhutan, followed by 2, 20, 50 and 100 Ngultrum in 1978. On 4th Aug, 1982, the Royal Monetary Authority of Bhutan act was enacted and started issue it’s own family notes after 1986. In 2006, the Monetary Authority introduced it’s latest series of notes with denomination of 1, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 500 and 1000 Ngultrum.